An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Read more

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential. Thank you for your understanding!

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

Urgent travel advice by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

14. March 2020 – 14:22

Due to the rapid spread of the coronavirus, many states and regions are introducing special measures, which Estonian citizens must consider when travelling. For example, restrictions on entry have been imposed in Albania, the United States, Austria, China, Hong Kong, Lithuania, Israel, Cyprus, Malta, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Tunisia, Ukraine, Hungary, New Zealand and Vietnam. You must be aware that special measures are in place when entering these countries – you are not allowed to enter or will be isolated or quarantined.

The number of countries imposing special measures to stop the spread of the coronavirus is increasing constantly. The risk of finding yourself quarantined or unable to find transport to return to Estonia can emerge suddenly.

Due to the rapidly evolving situation across the world and potential sudden travel restrictions or disruptions to transport links, the Foreign Ministry advises against any new foreign trips at this time. We also ask all Estonians who are currently travelling to return home as soon as possible.

“The situation regarding the spread of the coronavirus and restrictive measures aimed at stopping the spread of the contagion is changing extremely fast globally. Arriving in Estonia can become more difficult due to disruptions in transport links,” Reinsalu said.

Estonian citizens who are permanent residents abroad should follow the instructions of local authorities.

Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu emphasised that in view of the need to stop the spread of the coronavirus, which causes COVID-19, and prevent mass contagion, the head of emergency situation has ordered a 14-day period of isolation for all people who are returning from areas with an extensive spread of the virus, such as China, South Korea, Singapore, Iran, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Egypt. Rules for isolation will be developed in cooperation with the Ministry of the Interior by 16 March.

All tourists who were planning to come to Estonia and have been in a risk area or have had close contact with infected individuals must postpone their trips to Estonia. Based on the continuously updated list of risk areas, foreign citizens, for whom travel to Estonia is essential, must remain in isolation for 14 days if they arrive from a risk area or have symptoms.

Estonian citizens who are having trouble returning home are advised to contact the consular assistance emergency helpline: +372 53 01 9999 (24 h).

The Foreign Ministry’s travel advice in Estonian is available on the Reisi Targalt portal and on the Foreign Ministry’s website.

Additional information:

Britta Tarvis
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Communication Department
+372 637 7627 / +372 5194 7045